You want to know what’s happening…

It is known that in Korea you may be surprised by a notice of events and a change of plans. They kinda get sprung on you. This is my tactic with this post (only my second post in eight months). So let’s go!!!

Eight months into my one year contract and Yes, I’m still happy, Yes, I’m still enjoying teaching and Yes, I’m going to stay for another year! I have to re-apply to EPIK because I want to change provinces and move to Gangwon-do (closer to Monique in Samcheok :D), but that is a minor issue for now. You probably what I’ve been up to these past six months (since my last post)… well, THIS!

SCHOOL

At the NEC we mainly  teach Grade 5 Elementary students from Chungju, Danyang and Jecheon, but we have recently also taught Grade 1 Middle Schoolers for a month, done two day camps with mentally challenged and blind students and we’re currently busy with two family camps. The two day camps were a bit of a challenge but a really great experience. On the day we had the mentally challenged students we dressed up as cartoon characters in order to set up a more relaxed atmosphere and make it more fun. Needles to say, everybody went home happy after these two days. The family camps are fun too.

I dressed up as Nolbu.

I dressed up as Nolbu.

I have to admit that I prefer normal weeks with elementary students though. Elementary  students are the best! Other than that, school is fun and I’m going to miss the NEC next year (If my application to move to Gangwon is successful).

Life in SoKo

During the last two weeks of July we finished our PADI Open Water diving courses in Busan. This is one of the best things I could have done and I’m really happy to have done this. We’ve done our course through Haeundae Fun Divers.

PADI Open Water Diver course in Busan.

PADI Open Water Diver course in Busan.

Another highlight of July was when one of our friends from SA, Susaar “Masjien” van der Walt, came to visit us. It’s always fun to spend time with this incredible person and we certainly had a great time while she was here. I wonder who is coming to visit us next… (nudge nudge wink wink).

Susaar in SoKo.

Susaar in SoKo.

And for those of you wondering, yes every now and then I do get a chance to watch some sports. The main reason I can’t watch as much sports as I want to, is because of the huge time differences between SA and Soko (7 hours). Regardless though, I still make time to even watch the really late games and I’ve watched most of the Springbok tests this year. This is usually how I watch the matches though.

Rugby and beer.

Rugby and beer.

TRAVEL

It’s true that it is easier to travel while in Asia, but I guess it’s easy to travel from most countries. I’ve just never done it because I couldn’t afford it previously. Since working and living in Korea it has definitely become easier to travel and I’ve been to Beijing and the Philippines during the past couple of months. I will write more about this in follow-up blogs later this week. Here is some pictures as proof till then…

Really bad weather on The Great Wall - Beijing, China.

Really bad weather on The Great Wall – Beijing, China.

Sabang - Palawan, Philippines

Sabang – Palawan, Philippines

LIFE

On the 5th of May I decided to change my lifestyle and live a healthy lifestyle. I’m exercising more frequently than I have back in SA and I’m trying to eat more healthy. Needles to say, I’ve lost 9kg’s since orientation and I’ve been tipping the scale around the 90kg mark. I have to be honest though and admit that I have since got a bit lazy and picked up 3kg’s again during my two week holiday and the weeks before and after. On the positive side though, I’m almost back to my previous routine and will start gym and MMA training soon in order to take it to the next level. I’m also training for my first 10km in SoKo early in November.

September 2013

September 2013

First pic in Korea - February 2013

First pic in Korea – February 2013

And just because I’m really happy and meeting awesome people from all over the world it doesn’t mean that I forgot about everybody back home. I still really miss my family and friends from back home and I do try to stay in touch with most of you back home. Please remember though that you have maybe one, two or three friends living abroad that you have to keep in touch with, but that we have to keep in touch with all of you. I do try, but it’s a reality that I don’t have everybody’s details and can’t be in touch with everybody all the time. I do appreciate chats on Skype (@riaan_bam) and Whatsapp (+821046038410) though so add me and I will always reply. No excuses. 😀 hehe

That’s it for now. I will be adding more posts later in the week. I just got notice that I’ll be playing in a volleyball tournament next week…

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

