Movember in South Korea

I’ll start by being honest and tell all of you that this was the year that I’ve had the most doubt to join the Movember cause, I sport a full (but well maintained) beard throughout the year and prefer to show my face with the appropriate facial hair. Also, I’m in another country and I didn’t really know what to expect from my colleagues and new friends. But I finally bit the bullet last night and shaved my beard in order to start a fresh Mo, Bro! Thus far I’ve only heard good things, so I’m happy! (Thanx for the kind words).

Mo

I’ve realized though that it’s not the easiest to explain to my Korean colleagues what exactly happened to my beard and why I have shaved it. I asked Emma, one of my awesome Korean teachers, to help me translate some info I got from Movember.com. See had a look at it, but found an article online to help her better understand what Movember is. She then drew up this document in Korean which I could print out and give to Koreans who want to know what’s up with Movember. If you are in Korea and found that you have the same problem, please feel free to change my name to yours and spread the word.

리안은 수염을 깎았나? (Why Riaan shaved his mustache?)

‘모벰버’라고 들어보셨나요? (Have you heard about the campaign, named ‘Movember’?)

모벰버(Momember = Mustache콧수염+November11월)는 2003년 호주에서부터 시작된 캠페인으로, 매 해 11월 한 달 동안 남성 건강의 중요성에 대한 인식을 제고하고 고환암과 전립선암에 걸린 환자들을 돕기 위한 기금을 모금하는 행사입니다. 이 캠페인에 동참하는 방법은 어렵지 않은데, 먼저 Movember.com 사이트에서 등록을 통해 참여의사를 밝힌 후 Movember의 첫째날에 깨끗이 면도한 상태부터 캠페인의 마지막날인 30일까지 콧수염을 정갈하게 다듬고 기르면 됩니다. 캠페인이 진행되는 30일 동안 Mo bros(본 캠페인에 참여하는 남성들을 부르는 말)는 남성 건강의 중요성에 대한 주의를 환기시키고 널리 알리는 말과 행동으로 캠페인에 참여합니다.

남성 뿐만 아니라 여성 또한 캠페인에 참여할 수 있는데 Mo Sistas(캠페인에 참여하는 여성을 부르는 말)는 수염을 기르는 남성을 응원하고 남성 건강의 중요성을 함께 주변에 널리 알립니다. 아울러 Movember.com 사이트에서는 남성암환자들을 후원하기 위한 모금활동도 하고 있습니다.

Movember 2012. Girls can obviously also join the fun. Me, Moniqiue and Susaar.

Movember 2012. Girls can obviously also join the fun. Me, Moniqiue and Susaar.

Also, please feel free to check out my Mo Space and donate if you want to here.

Leave a Reply

